Monday, March 31

Book Review: Oryx and Crake

Title: Oryx and Crake

Author: Margaret Atwood

Pages: 374

Summary: A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author ofThe Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize Margaret Atwood's new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again. The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief.

My Rating: 10/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: This was my second reading of the book, and it was just as good, maybe even more, the second time. It's a book that almost instantly pulls me in, and is a book that has me wanting to read it, and the other two in the trilogy in a sitting, because of the excellent writing and story.

The writing in this book is solid, especially considering there's so much technical and scientific terms. I find in some books similar to this, which have heavy amounts of new technology, items, animals and basically anything futuristic, it can be bogged down with terms, names and definitions of what everything is and how it fits in. Atwood manages to bring in all of these things, both interesting, and frightening, and wove it into the story wonderfully. The amount of detail to pull the reader in, yet the amount the author allows the author to imagine was done almost flawlessly.

The story and how it brings the reader to the end was spectacular. Even knowing the end result, I was still completely drawn into the book. Surprisingly, I remembered a lot more than I originally thought and yet I was still just as engrossed into the book the second time as the first. Snowman, I think the second reading helped me a lot with getting into the mindset of Snowman and the whole psychology behind his character. He's a lot more complex than he originally seems especially after the second read, I picked up on a few things here and there. And while he's not a character I could say I loved, I do want to read more about him and his story. I also loved the conclusion of the book, and while I have to wait until the third book to find out exactly what will happen, I think it was a very fitting ending.

Overall, the book was a fantastic book, one of my favourites and now has me wanting to re-read The Year of the Flood and finally reading MaddAddam.

Would I recommend it to read: I would, highly recommend, but this book isn't for everyone. Apocalyptic, Speculative, Science Fiction, is a genre I know not everyone enjoys, but, this is one book that is well worth giving a try, even if you don't normally read it. If you don't like the genre, try the author's other fictional books, as she is one heck of an author.

What to read next: The Year of the Flood, MaddAddam

Challenges: 100+ Challenge, 2014 Category Challenge, 7th Annual Canadian Book Challenge

4 comments:

  1. I love this trilogy. Well, I hope to when I finish Maddaddam... Which I bought when it was out and still haven't found time for!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm making it a point to finish the trilogy this year. Which is why I re-read this one. I'll do the same with Year of the Flood, then MaddAddam. Perhaps we can push each other to get to the final :)

      Delete
  2. I have to disagree on one point. I think it is a book for everyone. I normally have less than zero interest in speculative/science fictions/dystopia, etc. But I think this whole trilogy is so well written and has such compelling stories and characters that it transcends genre. Anyone who calls themselves a reader should rightly like this book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm glad you think that way, everyone should read it. Sadly, to many don't give the genre a chance. Hopefully readers take your advice.

      Delete