Friday, August 31

Book Review: Daughters Who Walk This Path

Title: Daughters Who Walk This Path

Author: Yejide Kilanko

Pages: EBook 240

Summary: Daughters Who Walk This Path depicts the dramatic coming of age of Morayo, a spirited and intelligent girl growing up in 1980s Ibadan who is thrust into a web of oppressive silence woven by the adults around her. It's a legacy of silence many women in Morayo's family share. Only Aunty Morenike—once protected by her own mother—provides Morayo with a safe home, and a sense of female community which sustains Morayo as she grows into a young woman in bustling, politically charged, often violent Nigeria.

My Rating: 8.75/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: This was an excellent, well written story, powerful at times with an excellent cast of characters who will leave an impression on you once you've finished the book.

The book does take a look at some heavy, emotional topics and the author covers them wonderfully. She takes the reader to the heart of it, and you can't help but gain an emotional attachment to the characters. It's horrifying what the women went through, and how their lives were shaped by it. Yet the author shows their growth and a creates a bond of friendship in the story which was beautifully written.

The characters were incredibly well done and make the book what it is. The author took care in writing them, creating some very fleshed out characters. Particularity when showing the emotional roller coaster the characters go through as they struggle to move forward, and how the events in their lives build and shape them. Morayo was an incredibly well written character, where the author took her time to fully develop her and her story even with relationships with the other characters were well written, detailed and fully developed. The relationship between her and her Aunt Morenike was one relationship that was very memorable.

Overall it was an incredible book, highly recommend it.

Would I recommend it to read: I would, it was an incredible book, which I had hope to see on this year's Giller Long list.

What to read next: The Color Purple and Purple Hibiscus

Challenges: 12 in 12 Challenge, 100+ Challenge, Canadian Book Challenge VI, New Author Challenge

Book Review: Years of Red Dust: Stories of Shanghai

Title: Years of Red Dust: Stories of Shanghai

Author: Qiu Xiaolong

Pages: 227

Summary: A critically acclaimed international bestseller, Years of Red Dust is a lined collection of short stories that tells the story of modern China - from the early days of the Communist Revolution in 1949 to the Modernization Movement of the late 1990's - all from the perspective of one small street in Shanghai, Red Dust Lane. Through the voices and the lives of its most ordinary citizens, Qiu Xiaolong reveals the sights and sounds of everyday life as well as the changing political and social landscape that is China.

Contents:
Welcome to Red Dust Lane (1949)
When I Was Coceived (1952)
Return of POW I (1954)
(Tofu) Worker Poet Bao I (1958)
Chinese Chess (1964)
Shoes of the Cultural Revolution (1966)
Cricket Fighting (1969)
When President Nixon Visited China (1972)
Pill and Picture (1976)
A Jing Dynasty Goat (1979)
Uniform (1980)
Big Bowl and Firecracker (1984)
A Confidence Cap (1987)
Housing Assignment (1988)
Iron Rice Bowl (1990)
Return of POW II (1992)
Old Hunchback Fang (1995)
(Tofu) Worker Boet Bao II (1996)
Foot Masseur (1998)
Father and Son (2000)
Confucius and Crab (2001)
Eating and Drinking Salesman (2003)
Lottery (2005)

My Rating: 8.5/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: This was an excellent collection of short stories, which was easy to immerse myself into. Combined with excellent writing, it's a collection of short stories I'd highly recommend.

I loved how the author started each short story with and expert of the community's news letter, highlighting the major political and cultural events that occurred during that year. Paralleled with events that happened in their own little street it helped add some flavour to the book, as there were times when major events would happen in the country, but the people on the street would live on with their everyday lives, attempting to move on in life, stray away from gossip, find an apartment or even participate in cricket fighting.

The author did an amazing job at highlighting these events in the lives of those who lived on Red Dust Line. The characters were well constructed, and overall enjoyable to read about. Many characters found throughout the collection, even if it was only a brief mention, which helped create some well rounded stories. While there were times a characters story wasn't completely finished, their story was sometimes touched on later in the book.

Overall, an excellent collection of short stories, rich with culture and characterization.

Would I recommend it to read: I would. Very enjoyable, informative collection of short stories.

What to read next: I'd read the author again, not sure where else to look after that.

Challenges: 12 in 12 Challenge, 100+ Challenge, Alphabet Challenge, New Author Challenge

Thursday, August 30

Book Review: Deafening

Title: Deafening

Author: Frances Itani

Pages: EBook 346

Summary: Born on the shores of Lake Ontario, Grania O'Neill suffers a childhood illness that destroys her hearing. Grania's life without sound is also a life bounded by a powerful family love that tries to protect her from suffering. But when it becomes clear that Grania can no longer thrive among the hearing, her family sends her to the Ontario School for the Deaf. There, protected from the often unforgiving world outside, she learns sign language and speech. And there she meets Jim Lloyd, a hearing man, and the two, in wonderment, begin to create a new emotional vocabulary that encompasses both sound and silence. But a war is raging on the other side of the world. Only two weeks after their wedding, Jim must leave home to serve as a stretcher-bearer on the blood-soaked battlefields of Flanders. During this long and brutal war of attrition, Jim and Grania are pulled to the centre of cataclysmic events that will alter civilisation forever.

My Rating: 7.5/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: I enjoyed the book a lot, and while it did move towards some themes, I wasn't expecting, I did find it to be a good read in the end, and will more than likely seek out the author other books.

The book did a fantastic job on its focus on World War I. Showing the horrors and thoughts of those on the front line, as well as the reactions and turmoil those who were left behind faced. I was hoping the book would have stayed with focusing on Grania and her struggles of her deafness. As I did enjoy the look at all the struggles she had to face and how she overcame them. As well as the look at how things slowly started to change for persons who are deaf during the time period. While I enjoyed the WWI aspect of the story, I did feel it pulled the focus away from the original theme, which was what initially grabbed my interest of the book.

The characters were well written. Particularly Grania, while I didn't connect to her on a level I would have liked, the author did a good job at creating her. She was well rounded, interesting and an intereting woman to read about. I did enjoy watching her grow throughout the book. Some of the other characters weren't developed as well as Grania, which was a shame, especially Jim, I felt like the author left out to much for his development, especially in the end. For the most part, characterization was well done, just a few things here and there.

Overall, a good read - especially for readers who enjoy World War I themed books.

Would I recommend it to read: I would. Well written, and a good story with a lot of themes and good character developments, so I think I lot of readers would enjoy the book.

What to read next: The Piano Man's Daughter and other Canada Reads Longlisted/Shortlisted Books

Challenges: 12 in 12, 100+ Challenge, Alphabet Challenge, Canadian Book Challenge, New Author Challenge

Wednesday, August 29

Book Review: Stanley Park

Title: Stanley Park

Author: Timothy Taylor

Pages: 423

Summary: A young chef who revels in local bounty, a long-ago murder that remains unsolved, the homeless of Stanley Park, a smooth-talking businessman named Dante — these are the ingredients of Timothy Taylor's stunning debut novel — Kitchen Confidential meets The Edible Woman.

Trained in France, Jeremy Papier, the young Vancouver chef, is becoming known for his unpretentious dishes that highlight fresh, local ingredients. His restaurant, The Monkey's Paw Bistro, while struggling financially, is attracting the attention of local foodies, and is not going unnoticed by Dante Beale, owner of a successful coffeehouse chain, Dante's Inferno. Meanwhile, Jeremy's father, an eccentric anthropologist, has moved into Stanley Park to better acquaint himself with the homeless and their daily struggles for food, shelter and company. Jeremy's father also has a strange fascination for a years-old unsolved murder case, known as "The Babes in the Wood" and asks Jeremy to help him research it.

Dante is dying to get his hands on The Monkey's Paw. When Jeremy's elaborate financial kite begins to fall, he is forced to sell to Dante and become his employee. The restaurant is closed for renovations, Inferno style. Jeremy plans a menu for opening night that he intends to be the greatest culinary statement he's ever made, one that unites the homeless with high foody society in a paparazzi-covered celebration of "local splendour."

My Rating: 6.75/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: This book was fairly unique to what I usually read. It was alright in the end, but how the book came together with the two story lines was the main reason for it being a just okay read rather than a great read. The book doesn't have a lot going on in it, but it does take a good hard look at the characters focusing on who they are and what drives them. Many characters are rather eccentric but I found I couldn't connect to them. They had some interesting thoughts and some of their actions were rather, surprising, but I couldn't connect them to really appreciate their motives. I have to say, the slight twist near the end of the book was interesting. It did help save the book for me. I'm not sure if I'm more shocked or amused by Jeremy's actions, but it did help the book take an interesting turn.

The two separate story lines needed either a better connection to keep the plot moving and mesh everything together, or it needed to be split into two separate stories, with connected characters. I think with the later, it would have made for a much better read for me. Because I felt both of the different story lines had a lot that could happen with them and I felt they were both sacrificed, especially the ending, for the other. There was still some interesting moments, and the turn it took was amusing near the end, but the book did turn out to be an okay read.

Would I recommend it to read: I would. It was an odd book, I'm still undecided about it, but it is a book that may be worth experiencing.

What to read next: I'd take a look at the Canada's Reads list and all of those who didn't win. Some interesting reads there.

Challenges: 12 in 12, 100+ Challenge, Canadian Book Challenge, New Author Challenge

Book Review: The Heart Specialist

Title: The Heart Specialist

Author: Claire Holden Rothman

Pages: 325

Summary: As a young girl living in the late ninetieth century, Anges White is drawn to the "wrong" things. Growing up, she finds herself fascinated by microscopes, dissections, and anatomy - hobbies that are deemed unladylike. Yet despite the criticism of those around her, and the obstacles set in place preventing women from assuming traditional male roles, Agnes chooses to pursue her calling to become a doctor, even if it means taking on the illustrious medical establishment at McGill University.

Inspired by the life of Dr. Maude Abbott, The Heart Specialist is a testament to the power of will and perseverance. Agnes White is proof that in a world on the brink of change anything is possible.

My Rating: 5.5/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: I was slightly disappointed in this book, as it wasn't what I was expecting. I was hoping to have an excellent, strong woman and story about her struggle against the traditional male roles. And while the story did show her struggles, I found Agnes to be weak, and the story became boring and dragged on.

One big issue I have was Agnes. I didn't like her. She wasn't inspiring, she was just a character in the book, who faced many hardships to get her goals. And even then, she doesn't actually reach her true potential. She get's half way and decides that's good enough. She gave up to easy in the book, which I didn't like and I couldn't stand the "daddy issues" subplot. She wasn't a strong women, she seemed to need approval of everyone around her to feel satisfied, and I hated the ending. The last few pages of the book and how it closed bothered me. It turned the book from its main focus, to well, a typical cheesy ending - which was a love story.

Parts of the book were fine, there were times it built up to show her struggles, but that was thinned out, through a lot of filler. The writing was excellent, and the author did her research. I did appreciate the amount of work the author did to make sure it was accurate when talking about the various medical terms. (I didn't check this, but it seems to be researched).

Overall it wasn't at all what I hoped to be and was a disappointing read for me.

Would I recommend it to read: I think I still would. It wasn't what I was expecting, but I think there would be a lot of readers who would enjoy the book.

What to read next: My Name is Mary Sutter, Midwife of Venice

Challenges: 12 in 12, 100+ Challenge, Canadian Book Challenge VI, Mount TBR Challenge, New Author Challenge

Friday, August 24

Book Review: Nikolski

Title: Nikolski

Author: Nicolas Dickner

Pages: 287

Summary: Spring 1989. Three young people leave their far-flung birthplaces to follow their personal songs of migration Each ends up in Montreal, each on a voyage of self-discovery, dealing with the mishaps of heartbreak and the twisted branches of their shared family tree. With humour, charm and the sure touch of a born storyteller, Nicolas Dickner crafts a tale that shows the surprising links between garbage-obsessed archaeologists, pirates past and present, earthquake victims, sea snakes, several large tuna fish, an illiterate deep-sea diver, a Commodore 54, a mysterious book with no cover and a broken compass whose needle obstinately points to the Aleutian village of Nikolski.

My Rating: 6.5/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: This wasn't a bad book, but it wasn't a good one either. Mainly because almost nothing happens for the entire book. Sure there is a story there, but nothing seems to come together. It's almost like it's separate stories, with one similar link, that all just stop part way through. Each story line had some interesting points to them which I did enjoy, but everything seemed to start and stop in the middle. There wasn't much character development or plot development to the story, it was just a flat line that carried on the same pace throughout the book.

The writing was good and the ending was good, but without a complete and developed story, the ending didn't have the impact it should have. In the end not the best book I've read.

Would I recommend it to read: I'm not sure if I would. Good writing, but there doesn't seem to be an actual story there.

What to read next: Other Canada Reads winners, Mistress of Nothing, The Last Crossing, The Best Laid Plans, Next Episode

Challenges: 12 in 12, 100+ Challenge, Canadian Reading Challenge VI, Mount TBR Challenge, New Author Challenge



Thursday, August 23

Book Review: Do No Harm

Title: Do No Harm

Author: Karen Miller

Pages: EBook 438

Summary: Killing time…

Stargate Command is in crisis—too many teams wounded, too many dead. Tensions are running high and, with the pressure to deliver tangible results never greater, General Hammond is forced to call in the Pentagon strike team to plug the holes. But help has its price. When the team’s leader, Colonel Dave Dixon, arrives at Stargate Command he brings with him loyalties that tangle dangerously with a past Colonel Jack O’Neill would prefer to forget. Assigned as an observer on SG-1, hostility between the two men escalates as the team’s vital mission to secure lucrative mining rights descends into a nightmare.

Only Dr. Janet Fraiser can hope to save the lives of SG-1—that is, if Dave Dixon and Jack O’Neill don’t kill each other first…

My Rating: 5/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: This was not the best Stargate books out there, in fact it can go on my list of my least favourites that I've read. The premise was interesting, and there was potential to it being a good book, but the inclusion of trying to create more of a psychological look at the characters inner thoughts, didn't work.

The characters inner thoughts were very out of character, I hated the fact the author portrayed O'Neill as this tortured soul. While he is suppose to have his demons, this book went over the top. The constant reminder about Cromwell became repetitive as did Dixons attempt to talk about with the other characters, to the point it took away from the story and away from creating the actual main plot of the book.

Also, the book needed to be edited. It's been consistent with the Stargate EBooks that the layout is a bit haywire. Spacing is a major issue. When there should be a break, paragraphs are meshed together, but I have gotten used to this. But this had multiple grammar and spelling mistakes. I'm wonder if it's an issue with the EBooks versions. As the EBook versions generally have more mistakes, incorrect punctuation etc more than the physical books. Either way, these issue are frustrating, especially when the story line is already frustrating you.

Would I recommend it to read: Out of all the stargate books I've read, this is one of the least likely ones I'd recommend.

What to read next: More Stargate Books (or other TV ties ins if you don't like Stargate)

Challenges: 12 in 12 Challenge, 100+ Challenge, Mount TBR Challenge, New Author Challenge, Speculative Fiction Challenge

Book Review: The Bad Girl

Title: The Bad Girl

Author: Mario Vargas Llosa

Pages: 276

Summary: Ricardo Somocurcio is in love with a bad girl. He loves her as a teenager known as "Lily" in Lima in 1950, when she flits into his life one summer and disappears again without explanation. He loves her still when she reappears as a revolutionary in 1960s Paris, then later as Mrs. Richardson, the wife of a wealthy Englishman, and again as the mistress of a sinister Japanese businessman in Tokyo. However poorly she treats him, he is doomed to worship her. Charting Ricardo's expatriate life through his romances with this shape-shifting woman, Vargas Llosa has created a beguiling, epic romance about the life-altering power of obsession.

 My Rating: 5/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: The book started off with it being a fairly good book. It had an interesting premise and I really enjoyed the look at Peru and the historical and political background on it. But eventually the story line of the Bad Girl got old, boring and very repetitive, so much so that it became a chore to finish the book.

The writing was good. But the story was just to repetitive for me, "the bad girl" comes into his life, then leaves. Then comes, leaves. No matter where he goes she showed up, messed around with him then left. It got very repetitive after awhile and, very boring because of it was just the same thing happening over and over again. And because of its repetitive tone the book took, I found it hard to connect to the characters, and found that there wasn't as much development as there should have been. I think if some of the repetitive nature of "the Bad Girl" showing up and leaving again was toned down it would have been a much better book.

Would I recommend it to read: I'd recommend the author, just not the book. The story is far to repetitive and I think a lot of readers would also be put off by it.

What to read next: The War at the End of the World

Challenges: 12 in 12 Challenge, 100+ Challenge, Global Reading Challenge, New Author Challenge

Book Review: The Mistress of Nothing

Title: Mistress of Nothing

Author: Kate Pullinger

Pages: 248

Summary: When Lady Duff Gordon, toast of Victorian London society, departs for the hot, dry climate of Egypt to seek relief from the debilitating effects of her tuberculosis, her devoted lady’s maid, Sally, doesn’t think twice about remaining by her mistress’ side.

Sally and Lady Duff Gordon throw themselves into their exotic surroundings, adopting native dress, learning Arabic, and visiting the tombs of the ancient pharaohs. Along the way, Sally comes to experience freedoms she, as a servant, has never known before, as well as her first taste of romance.

But freedom and luxury that a maid can ill-afford, and when Sally grasps far more status entitles her to, she is brutally reminded that she is the mistress of nothing.

My Rating: 6.75/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: The book started out fine for me, but it was predictable. From the start I knew how it would all play out, so it did lose a lot of its appeal, because I was able to predict a lot of the events that happened in the plot.

The writing was well done and I enjoyed the way the story was told. I both liked and disliked how much was left out of the story. There were gaps in the story line, but because it was being retold from memory, it worked out well. Yet, I still found myself wanting a little more details to help link everything together. I also enjoyed the look at the life in Egypt and the characters adapting to living there. Characterization was alright. Unfortunately, I didn't like the characters. I didn't dislike them either, but there wasn't much there for me to want to completely submerge myself within the book. For me, they were just part of the story. They were well written, but they didn't have that extra push for me to love the them, or their story.

Overall the book wasn't bad, but not my favourite either.

Would I recommend it to read: I'm on the fence with this one. It has both good and not so good aspects to it. Unsure about this one.

What to read next: Nefertiti

Challenges: 12 in 12, 100+ Challenge, Canadian Book Challenge VI, Global Reading Challenge, Mount TBR Challenge, New Author Challenge

Book Review: Circle of Friends

Title: Circle of Friends

Author: Maeve Binchy

Pages: 551

Summary: Big, generous-hearted Benny and the elfin Eve Malone have been best friends throughout their childhoods in sleepy Knockglen. When they both go to study in Dublin, they meet a circle of friends that includes handsome Jack Foley and the selfish but beautiful Nan Mahon, whose ambition will drag them all into trouble. As Knockglen is surprised into new life, the two girls, Benny and Eve, discover among the many distractions of growing up true friendship is the greatest gift of all.

My Rating: 8.75/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: This was a book that has been sitting on my shelf forever. It's probably one of my oldest TBR's. I'm glad I finally picked it up and read it. It was a wonderful book, which at times I couldn't put down.

The book was well told and well written. Binchy's writing talent was extraordinary, as she managed to carry the story and the characters throughout, taking her time to flesh out her characters and their stories. Her story on friendship, and the ups and downs that come with it, was truly amazing, I did think that I would become bored with the book because I thought the length of the book may cause the book to drag on, but that never happened, as it ended up being a well done and well told story.

The characters do leave an impression on you. Benny and Eve are definitely two characters that will be remembered by me, along with their friendship they built. There were some aspects of the book that were a bit predictable, especially Nan's story line. I had her figured out from the start. She was also the most unlikeable character in the book. Which was also a good thing, because Binchy did a fantastic job at creating her.

It may be a book that was slow moving, but that's part of what made it so great, as it takes time to tell the story and explore some fantastic characters.

Would I recommend it to read: I would! And I would also make sure you recommend this to your best friend, buy a copy and glue it to their hands if you have too, because when it comes down to it, it's a fantastic book on friendship.

What to read next: More Maeve Binchy, Cathy Kelly, Marian Keys

Challenges: 12 in 12, 100+ Challenge, Ireland Reading Challenge, Mount TBR Challenge

Thursday, August 2

July Wrap-Up!



And it's August! Summer is almost over, and the year is creeping closer to the end. Is anyone else finding this hard to believe? Only 5 month left in the year. 5 months to kick butt in the rest of the challenges I'm participating in - which I think I can do. I will do! Staying positive here - but all in all I'm very happy in reading, reading challenges and all that. Now, I just need to be more social and actually comment on the other reviews out there. I have countless ones tag to go back to, then I forget. Maybe the last half of the month will be different!

The Books


Another good reading month for me where I read 12 books, just like last month so I'm right on target with where I want to be at this point to reach all my reading goals. And this month I did read some really good books and a quite a few short story collections. My favourite books this month was the short story collection Light Lifting by Alexander MacLeod and The Years by Virginia Woolf.  My least favourite book of the month was The Colour by Rose Tremain followed by A Complicated Kindness by Miriam Toews.

  1. Reliquary (SGA - 2) - Martha Wells (Ebook) -8.75/10
  2. Living Dead in Dallas - Charlaine Harris (Ebook) 7.5/10
  3. The Sea-Folk (Frank Delaney Storytellers) (Ebook) - 8.75/10
  4. Street of Riches - Gabrielle Roy - 8/10
  5. The Years - Virginia Woolf - (Ebook) 8.75/10
  6. The In-Between World of Vikram Lall - M.G. Vassanji - 7.5/10
  7. A Complicated Kindness - Miriam Toews - 5.5/10
  8. Chocolat - Joanne Harris - 7.5/10
  9. The Colour - Rose Tremain - (Ebook) 3.75/10
  10. Light Lifting - Alexander MacLeod - 9/10
  11. The Sentimentalists - Johanna Skibsrud - 7/10
  12. This Cake is for The Party - Sarah Secky - 8.25/10

The Challenges


I finished a challenge this month, and it wasn't the one I was expecting to finish. I have multiple challenges with just a few books away from being finished. Some of which have been like this for a few months, but my reading moods don't seem to want to read the books to finish them. But, still in the up coming months it does look like a lot of challenges will be completed. Looking at my challenge progress, I am fairly confident I'll finish almost all. Only two are questionable right now. The 12 in 12 and the Mount TBR challenge. We'll see how things go in the up coming months.

Completed Challenge(s)


The challenge I completed this month, and it was down to the wire too, was the short story challenge. As I said in my final thoughts on the challenge page, I was surprised I finished it as early as I did. But I really enjoyed the challenge and have found I've really enjoyed reading short story collections. Try as I might to savour the collections and read them slowly, I find my self inhaling them!


Short Stories Reading Challenge 2012 - 12/12 - 100% Complete - Completed on July 31 2012


Current Challenges

12 in 12 - 74/144 - 51% Complete
100+ Challenge 2012 - 70/100 - 70% Complete
1001 Books to Read Before Challenge 2012 - 11/15 - 73% Complete
Alphabet Challenge 2012 - 23/26 - 88% Complete
Canadian Book Challenge VI - 6/13 - 46% Complete
Finish That Series Challenge 2012 - 0/3 - 0% Complete (2 books read from series one)
Global Reading Challenge 2012 - 11/14 -79% Complete
Ireland Reading Challenge 2012 - 4/6 - 67% Complete
Mount TBR Reading Challenge 2012 - 24/50 - 48% Complete
New Authors Reading Challenge 2012 - 41/50 - 82% Complete
Speculative Reading Challenge 2012 - 14/24 - 58% Complete


Countries Visited

This month I visited, Canada, USA, England, France, Ireland, Kenya and New Zealand



Create your own travel map - TravBuddy


Book That Followed Me Home


I still stand beside the claim all these books follow me home. I am helpless in the matter, and have no say what so ever in them entering my home! I have to say, my Kobo got quite the work out this month. As it had quite a few books, erm.... shall I say magically appear on it?

I was shocked read about Maeve Binchy's passing. I've only read one book by her, part way through a second and have many more on my shelves. I'm constantly eyeing up her other books as I pass them in the book store, but tell my self I have to read the ones I own first. So to celebrate her memory in the literary world, which I doubt will ever fade, I got my self two of her short story collections. I just finished a short story collection, but I doubt I'll way long before I dive into these.


Dublin 4 - Maeve Binchy (EBook)
Victoria Line, Central Line - Maeave Binchy (EBook)


The Hunter and the Hunted - Kelley Armstrong  (EBook)
The Sea-Folk - Frank Delaney  (EBook)
Heart's Desire (SG-1 20) - Amy Griswold  (EBook)
Living Dead in Dallas - Charlaine Harris  (EBook)
Deafening - Frances Itani  (EBook)
The Hundred Thousand Kindoms - N. K. Jemisin   (EBook)
The Broken Kingdoms - N. K. Jemisin  (EBook)
The Kingdom of the Gods - N.K. Jemisin  (EBook)
The Killing Moon - N. K. Jemisin  (EBook)
The Shadow Sun - N. K. Jemisin  (EBook)
Daughters Who Walk the Path - Yejide Kilanko  (EBook)
Firebird - Mercedes Lackey  (EBook)
The Soldiers Song - Alan Monaghan  (EBook)
Elantris - Brandon Sanderson  (EBook)
Small Change - Elizabeth Hay
A Student of Weather - Elizabeth Hay
An Irish Country Girl - Patrick Taylor
Rules of Civility - Amor Towles


And there it is, July in a nut shell! Happy August Everyone, hope the last half of the summer brings you many enjoyable reads!