Thursday, March 31

Book Review: The Scarlet Pimpernel

Title: The Scarlet Pimpernel

Author: Baroness Emmuska Orczy

Pages: 299

Summary: The first and most successful of the Baroness Orczy's series of books featuring Sir Percy Blakeney, who leads a double life as both an English fop and a swashbuckling rescuer of French aristocrats. The Scarlet Pimpernel was the precursor to what became known as the masked-avenger genre. In 1792 during the French Revolution, twenty English aristocrats - "one to command, and nineteen to obey" - form a secret society to save their French counterparts from the guillotine. No one knows who they are, but the leader sings his notes with a small red flower, a scarlet pimpernel. A fictional and wishful creation of the author, who was forced to leave her native Hungry as a young woman due to fear of a peasant rebellion, The Scarlet Pimpernel, first produced as a play in 1902, and its sequels made the fortunes of the Baroness.

My Rating: 8.5/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: I enjoyed the book, it had a very lovely flow to the writing, that made it easy to get lost in the book, not to mention the character, the Scarlet Pimpernel, was a fun character to read about and root for, making for a very enjoyable read.

The writing style was solid. It has a very nice flow that is consistent throughout the book, and even in the more slow parts, the book is easy to get through. The author has a very lovely narrative, that keeps the readers interest, has an elegant flow, but it isn’t over flowerily with long descriptive passages (which I do enjoy, but I know some readers are turned off by this) the gives the reader some lovely descriptions, but doesn’t veer off the story to much to do it. She meets half way between the old classic tales, and the modern. It made for a pleasant read, and some of the passages of the land around them, painted some fantastic pictures in my mind.

The character of the Scarlet Pimpernel was intriguing, and fun to read about. The reader can easily get behind him and route for him. I really enjoyed reading about how he was rising up against the powers that be during the French Revolution, his character traits often reminded me of some of my all time favourite characters - The Three Musketeers, so it made for an engaging read, even though there weren’t many action packed scenes.

One aspect I didn’t like about the book was the focus on Mrs. Blakeney, her character bothered me throughout the book and her role, even when she was “helping”, (or in her mind she was), she bothered me. Nothing about her made me think she was brave or smart, she just seemed like the a hysterical woman of the time period, who was stupid, weak and butting in where she didn’t belong, and nearly paid the price for it. I didn’t see a woman rising above her time, to do good like the author intended, and her role in the book was a huge issue for me. I wanted more on the adventures of the rebellious Scarlet Pimpernel, and how he is helping his fellow rebels, more on him helping people escape etc. I’m hoping in later books, the focus is more on this. (Never knew there was a series of book, now I’ll have to check out!).
Overall, an enjoyable read, and will most likely read more in the series.

Would I recommend it to read: Yes, it is a great classic read for any fan of classic literature, and it would probably be a good choice for those who don’t like the classics as much, because it reads at a faster pace than most in its time.

What to read next: The Three Musketeers, The Black Tulip, The Counte of Monte Cristo and the other books from the series.

Challenges: 11 in 11, 100+ Challenge, A - Z Challenge, Historical Fiction Challenge,

Book: The Cost of Honor

Title: The Cost of Honor (SG-1 5)

Author: Sally Malcolm

Pages: 359

Summary: Paying the price . . .

In the sequel to A Matter of Honor, SG-1 embark on a desperate mission to save SG-10 from the edge of a black hole. But the price of heroism may be too high . . .

Returning to Stargate Command, Colonel Jack O’Neill and his team find more has changed in their absence than they had expected. Nonetheless, O’Neill is determined to face the consequences of their unauthorized activities, only to discover the penalty is far worse than anything he had imagined.

With the fate of Colonel O’Neill and Major Samantha Carter unknown, and the very survival of the SGC threatened, Dr. Daniel Jackson and Teal’c mount a rescue mission to free team-mates and reclaim the SGC.

Yet returning to the Kinahhi homeworld, they learn a startling truth about its ancient foe. And uncover a horrifying secret . . .

My Rating: 8.75/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: This book was awesome, and would have made one hell of an episode. The author did fantastic job at keeping the feel of the show, and creating an action packed book, that kept you hanging, wanting more and kept the faith of the Stargate canon, both in story and characters.

The story picks up right where the last book left off, and it doesn’t really slow down, even in some of the more slow parts of the plot. There was always something of interest happening. The author even hinted at a few things that were revealed the tv show, that made those revelations a little more clean and less out of left field. It helped move a lot of the stories that I saw in the shows long, and gave a more deeper understanding and insight to different plots and subplots that are handled on the show. I think the author did a good job at ensuring that the book links to the show. The book also gave some interesting insight to some of the characters minds, emotions and character development, although some aspects were shocking, and a few times I found the characters to be out of their usual self, the author did keep the story intact.

What I didn’t like was I think the book could have been broken into three parts, rather than too. There was a lot of information in it, a lot of story telling and a lot of development of the characters. Some things weren’t explained as well as I’d like to have, and if the book had been split into three, it would have made for three fantastic, action packed books. I can say one thing, I love the ending, it was a typical Stargate ending (those who watch the show know what I mean), but it was one I always loved. Overall, it was a great read, and as the other books, just re-enforces my love for the show, and novelizations.

Would I recommend it to read: This was an awesome read. Any fan of the show should read this.

What to read next: More Stargate of course.

Challenges: 11 in 11, 100+ Challenge, 2011 Countdown Challenge, Futuristic/Sci-Fi Challenge


Book Review: Haunted

Title: Haunted

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Pages: 448

Summary: Eve Levine - half-demon, black witch, and devoted mother - has been dead for three years. She has a great house, an interesting love life, and can't be killed again, which comes on handy when you've made as many enemies as Eve has. Yes, the after life isn't to bad; all she needs to do is find a way to excommunicate with her daughter, Savannah, and she'll be happy.
But fate - or more specifically, the Fates - have other plans. Eve owes them a favor, and they've just called it in. An evil spirit known as the Nix has escaped from hell. She feeds on chaos and death, and is very good at persuading people to kill for her. The Fates want Eve to hunt her down before she does anymore damage, but Nix is a dangerous enemy - previous hunters have been driven insane in the process. As if that's not problem enough, the only way to stop her is with an angel's sword. And Eve is no angel.

My Rating: 7.5/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: My least favourite of the series (so far), I found at even though I enjoyed the overall story of this book, I just didn’t think it lived up to the other books.

I was anxious to read this book, as I was interested in reading a book from Eve’s perspective, and the general idea behind the story was very interesting. At times, I was captivated by the story, waiting to see what would happen next, and Armstrong did a fantastic job at creating a fantasy world, especially the world in the afterlife, that seemed believable. I like that even in the after life the characters face hard choices, sacrifices and everything has a pro and con, so to speak. All of her creatures, supernatural humans, all have flaws, strengths and weaknesses. Her ability to have all of those elements and details in her books amazes me, and it makes for a good read when you have an author that pays attention to those details - so far all of her books have followed this path, so the readers won’t be disappointed.
What I didn’t like? Eve. For what ever reason, I just found her character didn’t work. She didn’t seem to have a distinctive voice, or characterization. Her character didn’t seem to be as concrete as the other female protagonists from the other books, so I found Eve, her development and overall voices and thoughts to be jumpy. I’m not sure what it was, but for me something fell apart for Eve’s character. I enjoyed the story about her, and some of the events in the end weren’t what I’d have liked for the character, so I enjoyed her enough to care what happened, but I just found that, when I compare it to other books, her character wasn’t as distinctive as the others from the other books.

I also found that this book was drawn out to much, to the point it got a little repetitive. And some events were to far-fetched, even for fantasy - for example the scene with the pirates. It became to close to fan-fiction at times, than the well thought out plots I loved in earlier books. It wasn’t horrible, these realms were well thought out, and written, but at times I felt myself asking “really? You’re really doing this?” For this book, I think “less is more” would have been better.

Overall it was a good book, but it isn’t a favourite of the series, and it didn’t have the same feel as the other books.

Would I recommend it to read: I’d still recommend it to read. It isn’t my favourite of he series, which I’d recommend over this, but it isn’t a horrible book, it just didn’t have the same appeal to it as the other books in the series I’ve read up to this point.

What to read next: Broken is the next book in the series, so that would be a good choice.

Challenges: 11 in 11, 100+ Challenge, 2011 Countdown Challenge, Spring Reading Thing



Book Review: Ysabel

Title: Ysabel

Author: Guy Gavriel Kay

Pages: 416

Summary: Ned Marriner is spending springtime with his father in Provence, where the celebrated photographer is shooting images for glossy coffee-table book. Both father and son fear for Ned’s mother, physician for Doctors without Borders, currently assigned to the civil war-torn region of Sudan. Ned has inherited her courage and perhaps more than that.

While his father is photographs the cathedral of Aix-en-Provence, Ned explores the shadowy interior with Kate Wenger, and American exchange student who has a deep knowledge of the area’s history. The surprise an intruder in place where he should not be: “I think you ought to go now,” he tells them drawing a knife: “You have blundered into a corner of a very old story.”
In a modern world of iPods, cellphones, and SUVs whipping along roads walked by Celtic tribes and Roman legions, a centuries-old saga seems to be beginning again.

In this sublime and ancient corner of the world, where borders between the living and the long-dead are most vulnerable, Ned and those close to him re bout to be drawn into a haunted tale, as mythic figured from conflicts long ago erupt into the present, changing and claiming lives.

My Rating: 5.75/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: The author is very talented in writing some interesting fantasy, mixed with history - a type of fantasy which is new to me. I did enjoy the overall story and its historical and almost mythological context, it was very different from other fantasy books I’ve read, but a refreshing different. It kept me interested throughout the book, and I wanted to find out how it all played out, but I felt the execution of the book, and the way it was told just didn’t work.

The main issue I had with the book was that the author concentrated too much on trying to connect with a younger audience, and younger voice to the point it felt forced. The book had a heavy focus on how the author thought the teenage mind worked, what they liked, and how they perceived the world. This made the narrative and how the characters thought and reacted to events seem forced, instead of having a natural feel to it. Also, the constant mentions of the different technological devices, trends and terms really ruined the flow of the book. Again, how it was laid out in the book, just didn’t seem to fit right, and it made for a very choppy read. I think if the author stopped trying to connect to the teenage audience, by writing what he thought was “trendy” and “in”, the book would have worked a lot better, but the attempt to connect with a younger audience, fell flat for me, and made the book hard to get through.

Would I recommend it to read: I think I would, it wasn’t a horrible book, in fact it was quite good, and there were just a lot of elements that didn’t work for me, fans of YA lit would likely enjoy the book more than others. So I’d recommend it to them, but for other readers, I’d likely suggest if you want to read the author, to try one of his other books. I hear he has a very good style and vision in the historical-fantasy genre

What to read next: I’d recommend more books by the author, I’ve heard some good things about some of the other books he’s written.

Tuesday, March 22

Book Review: Spider Bones

Title: Spider Bones

Author: Kathy Reichs

Pages: 302

Summary: When Temperance Brennan is called to the scene of Quebec drowning, shocking discoveries await: the victim - identified as one John Lowery - was engaged in a bizarre sexual practice when he died; and the same John Lowery was an American soldier declared dead in 1968, after a Huey crash in Vietnam. Who then Tempe sets off to find our, is buried in the vet's North Carolina grave? Exhuming the remains and having them analyzed at military compound in Hawaii gets complicated when Tempe's ex, Detective Andrew Ryan, appears . . . and when a Honolulu M.E. consults with her on who or what lethally attacked a young victim - a shark, or more sinister predator? And when Lowery's dog tags turn up linked to yet another corpse, Tempe must deconstruct a twisting tale of death that spins years, continents, and too many tragic losses.

My Rating: 4.5/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: I’ve never been a big fan of crime fiction, although I admit, I never gave it a good chance, still never been a big fan- and this book is one of the reasons why I generally avoid the genre. The initial idea behind the story was interesting, and originally I enjoyed it, but the story quickly fell apart when the “twists” started happening, to the point the story lost its edge.

The writing style was a problem for me from the start, poorly written. The author spend a significant amount of time explain things like a characters voice was flat, or anger when it was already implied by what was being said, or how the scene was set up. Having a character state something, than have the word “flat” written after it, is just repeating the obvious. This aspect of the book was a major part in my dislike from the start.

As I said from the start, the initial story was interesting, but too much was added into it, to try and make it have twists, and surprises, that it took away from the story. It became forced, trying to make all the subpots and events to connect, and even then, it didn’t seem to be believable.

Overall, it had an interesting plot to start off with, but it really didn’t work out for me. The book wasn’t terrible, but had a lot of little things that took away from the story as a whole.

Would I recommend it to read: I don’t think I would. Perhaps other books in the series, but even for them I can’t be sure. This one just didn’t work for me. So I don’t think I’d recommend it.

What to read next: Honestly, I have no clue, this isn’t really my genre, and the book just didn’t work for me, so don’t know where to point you to.

Challenges: 11 in 11, 100+ Challenge, 2011 Countdown Challenge, A - Z Challenge, New Author Challenge



Sunday, March 20

Book Review: Alias Grace

Title: Alias Grace

Author: Margaret Atwood

Pages: 560

Summary: This astonishing new work by the author of the bestselling The Robber Bride and Cat’s Eye, Margaret Atwood re-creates a mysterious and disturbing murder and breathes life into one of the most enigmatic and notorious women of the nineteenth century.

Grace Marks has been convicted for her involvement in the vicious murder of her employer, the wealthy Thomas Kinnear, and his housekeeper, Nancy Montgomery. Years later, Dr. Simon Jordan - an up-and-coming expert in burgeoning field of mental illness - listens to Grace’s story, from her family’s difficult passage from Ireland to Canada, to her time as a maid in Thomas Kinnear’s household.

As Grace revives her past, Jordan draws her closer to a dark maze of relationships and her lost memories of the day her life shattered

My Rating: 9.25/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: It’s hard to put into words, what I felt about this book, it was so well done, and well written, not to mention a few twists, which kept the my attention throughout the book. In fact at times I can say I was gripped by the words as they came off the pages, keeping me guessing to what was actually going on in the character, Grace’s, head.

Atwood can really write a cast of complex and very flawed characters, who grab a hold of the reader, and pull them into the story. The characters really make the story here, and you can’t help but become intrigued by Grace, and what is really going on through her mind. Was she, at the time of the murders, someone who was suffering from a mental illness? Or was she fully aware of her actions? Or was she someone who was taken advantage of my vicious murder, who threatened her into taking part of the vicious act? I never really knew for sure what that answer was, but I couldn’t put the book down, in hopes of finding it out. There were hints, she was suffering from multiple personality disorder, a lot actually, some more subtle than others, which I won’t get to into so I won’t spoil things for those who haven’t read the book, but there were some interesting, “hidden” hints, throughout the book.

The historical aspect of the book was also interesting, I don’t know much about the actual events the book is based on, but it was very interesting to read about nonetheless, and to see what Toronto and Richmond Hill was like years ago. I think Atwood painted the picture of life, the scenery and events beautifully. She had a very concrete picture of how everything was back than, and it really made the novel.

Only two issues I had with the novel, one was it moved slowly at times, although I did like it to be detailed, it did move a little slowly for me. My biggest issue is with the ending. Which I loved and hated at the same time, I didn’t like the ending and how things were tied up, but the last paragraph and line of the book shocked me and made me question Grace’s character. I love that the reader is never given closure on what is going on inside her head; even in the end you can’t be sure.

Overall a wonderful book, that I’d highly recommend, it is up there with some of my favourite Canadian literature.

Would I recommend it to read: Highly recommend it. This is different than some of the other books by Atwood I’ve read, and has so many different elements to it; I think a lot of readers can take something from it.

What to read next: The Outlander,

Book Review: Anne of Green Gables

Title: Anne of Green Gables

Author: L.M. Montgomery

Pages: 308

Summary: As soon as Anne Shirley arrives at the snug white farmhouse called Green Gables, she is sure she wants to stay forever . . . but will the Cuthberts send her back to the orphanage? Anne knows she's not what they expected - a skinny girl with fiery red hair and temper to match. If only she can convince them to let her stay, she'll try very hard not to keep rushing headlong into scrapes and blurting out the first thing that comes to her mind. Anne is not like anybody else, and the Cuthberts agree; she is special - a girl with enormous imagination. This orphan girl dreams of the day when she can call herself Anne of Green Gables.

My Rating: 7.75/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: I enjoyed reading this book, a childhood classic, I don’t have any memory reading - in fact I’m fairly positive this was my first time reading Anne of Green Gables, and it was fairly good read. Even for a children’s book, I still found myself enjoying the book.

Anne was a fun character to read about, she had some character flaws, that after awhile did get on my nerves, and this is where I found a lot of redundancies throughout the book, Anne getting into trouble, she gets upset and promises to be good, she’ll repent etc, etc. For the first part of the book I was fine, but by the end there was only so much more I could take. But, I still enjoyed her character and watching her grow into a more mature teenager. It’s a great coming of age story, and Anne definitely grows as a character throughout - in fact I found most of the characters in the book to be well rounded and develop consistently throughout the book.

It wasn’t the most engaging book, but a good writing style, it had nice flow, but still kept a narrative that would be easy to follow for the audience level, a good book for a coming of age story and overall a good read.

Would I recommend it to read: I would, despite the bit of redundancies, I think it is a sweet book and overall a good read. A good choice for the young and the young at heart!

What to read next: The book is part of a series, so if you like Anne, then I suggest you read the rest of the series. Heidi would also be a good choice.

Saturday, March 19

Book Review: Tipperary

Title: Tipperary

Author: Frank Delaney

Pages: 445

Summary: Born in 1860 into a respected Irish-Anglo family, Charles O'Brien loves his native land and its irrepressible people. As a healer, he travels the countryside dispensing traditional cures while soaking up stories and legends of bygone times. While in Paris to treat his dying countryman Oscar Wilde, Charles encounters a beautiful and determined young Englishwoman, April Burke, and is instantly and passionately smitten - but callously rejected. Vowing to improve himself, Charles returns to Ireland, where he undertakes the preservation of great and abandoned estate of Tipperary, in whose shadow he has loved his whole life - and which, he discovers, may belong to April and her father.

As Charles pursues his obsession, he writes the "History" of his own life and his country’s emergence as a nation; these are woven together in Frank Delaney's gloriously absorbing novel, which is sweeping, dramatic, and unforgettable as the land itself.

My Rating: 9.25/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: I was captivated from this book from the first few pages, and was hooked until the end, at times I practically devoured the book, just a wonderful read and one I’d highly recommend.

Frank Delaney is a talented writer, who can create a very strong story that keeps the reader’s attention and interest throughout the book. I love his writing style; he has a clear voice throughout the book which flows off the pages. It’s very hard to put the book down, when just the writing itself is so well done - and makes for a fantastic reading experience. This book had two separate narratives which switch throughout the book as it tells the story of Charles O’Brien, the history of Ireland and the events that surround him and his country. One narrative is from O’Brien, well the other is from the historian and accounts from journals of the people who knew Charles.

I also found it interesting on how the perspective of events changed from the narratives, as well as what “actually happened”. Charles had a very biased, and at times naïve view of people and events around him. It was a very interesting ploy to have a second narrative, to give the facts about the events that O’Brien was writing about. I think this aspect of the book was done very well, as they both came together nicely, I felt that although they were two separate narratives, in two different times, they still came together to tell the story as a whole. As for the connection between the two people, I both liked and disliked it. I kind of saw it coming about half way through the book, but I still enjoyed it in the end, even if it was a little predictable.

I loved reading about the history of Ireland, and the restoration of the Tipperary Castle, as well as learning about Tipperary itself. It made for an engaging read for me as I read the historical fiction aspects of the book.

The only negative thing about the book I can say is I wasn’t a big fan of the characters. I didn’t hate them, but they weren’t ones I could fall in love with - in the first book I read I adored the characters, for this one, I’m a little indifferent about them. They didn’t ruin the book for me, but none of the characters stood out as memorable. Otherwise, it was a phenomenal read, one that I highly recommend - and if not this book than one of the author’s other books.

Would I recommend it to read: Yes! Or anything else by the author - I can see some readers who wouldn’t like the two narratives, as it jumps between them a lot, but it is a book that is at least worth a try. And the overall story is worth reading.

What to read next: Ireland, Shannon - Anything else by the author really.

Sunday, March 13

Book Review: Evening Snow Will Bring Such Peace

Title: Evening Snow Will Bring Such Peace

Author: David Adams Richards

Pages: 226

Summary: Cindi and Ivan Baterache have been married only twenty months. There is a disagreement over a loan, and rumours of violence in the ensuing quarrel being to spread throughout the northern New Brunswick mill town in which they live, setting in motion a series of events and misunderstandings. As Ivan struggles to reconcile with Cindi, the community turns against him, fuelled by his father's self-deluded lies and misguided attempts to set things right, exposing the other side of good intentions and leading to the novel's powerful conclusion. Disturbing, tender-hearted, and at times darkly humorous, Evening Snow Will Bring Such Peace is unforgettable as it reveals the strange unrecognized power in us all to shape one another's destinies.

My Rating: 6.75/10

What I liked/disliked about the book: I have to say, David Adams Richards is an exceptional writer. He has a very simple style to describe and tell a story, but he is able to create a very dark and depressing mood, huge descriptive passages (which I do love to have), but he is able to lay out the entire scene and emotion of the story, with a simple story telling. He’s a wonderful writing, but I just couldn’t connect to the story.

It was very dark and depressing at times, and I wasn’t able to connect to any of the characters. I think its good story on how peoples preservatives of events are skewed by their own observations, as well as others observations and how rumours are created and often taken out of context. It is also an interesting examination on how people observe them selves and how they think others observe them. Overall the idea behind the story was solid, but I felt it didn’t work for me, because I couldn’t connect to the characters to really care enough about them to want to understand what they were going through, and why they were doing some of the actions they did.

Would I recommend it to read: I didn’t enjoy it that much, but I would still recommend it to read. I think there are many readers out there would enjoy the writing style and storytelling abilities by the author, as well as enjoy the overall story and characters themselves. It didn’t work very well for me, but many others would likely feel differently.

What to read next: Final book in the trilogy - For Those Who Hunt the Wounded Down

Challenges: 11 in 11 Challenge, 100+ Challenge, A - Z Challenge, Canada Reading Challenge IV


Monday, March 7

February Wrap-Up!

For starters, I would like to know where February went? It whizzed by for me, a stressful month in work related stuff, felt like I had barely enough time to catch my breath, let alone read. But I did manage to get some reading done. Mostly it's been weekend reading, where my brain is to dead from work to do much of anything, so I read all weekend long, ignoring all my chores. Either way, I'm happy with this months reading progress. I may not be up to the total books read I'd hoped, but after month of non-stop go, go go at work, looking back I did awesome!

The Books

This month I managed to read 9 books, which works out to be about 2,869 pages. Overall the month was fairly, mehish for me. I read
more books that were not bad, but not amazing. Also read a few books I didn't care for much at all. Two books do stand out which are Unless by Carol Shields and A Thousand Splendid Suns. Both were spectacular books that captivated me from the first few pages. It's hard to pick a favourite between the two. As for my least favourite, I'd have to go with The Book of Days tied with Alice in Wonderland/Through the
Looking Glass. Both books didn't impress me in the slightest. Moonlight in Odessa isn't far behind them.


The Challenges
I'm in pretty good shape with those. There are two or three I haven't started yet, but I'm not to worried. I have a lot of time for them, and I've been scoping out books for possible choices. I'm pretty muc
h finished the Canadian IV Challenge, in fact I'll probably go over - just because.

11 in 11Challenge - 16/121
100+ Challenge - 17/1001001 Books Challenge - 4/16
2011 Count Down Challenge - 20/66
A - Z Challenge - 15/52
Book Blogger Bucket List - 6/26
Canadian Reading Challenge IV - 12/13
Chunkster Reading Challenge - 0/8
Fantasy Reading Challenge - 3/12
Futeristic and Sci-Fi Challenge - 3/8Global Reading Challenge - 4/21
Historical Fiction Challenge - 1/10
Ireland Reading - 0/6
Mental Illness Advocacy Reading Challenge - 1/16
New Authors Challenge - 9/25Take a Chance III Challenge - 1/10
War Through the Generations - Civil War - 0/5

Countries Visited
This month I visited a few countries including: Canada, USA, Ukraine, France, China, Afghanistan and more outer space!


Books That Followed Me Home

Well, this is a first. No books followed me hom
e this month. Gasp! I did have one book added to my collection, but it was a gift for Valentines Day.

1) Spider Bones by Kathy Reichs


Other Bookish Stuff - Canada Reads



This month was Canada Reads. Which I watched avidly. I followed it through the interwebs, and generally took a great interest in it. I've been meaning to do post about it, but haven't had the time. In quick paragraph. I was a little disappointed, I'd had hopped for a more epic debate, and the book I wanted to win didn't. But it was still interesting, and I loved how much some of my fellow Canadians were participating and supporting their book. This years final five were"

Essex County - Jeff Lemire defended by Sarah Quinn (who was the best debater there) it was the first to be eliminated. I don't like graphic novels, but think its shame how and why it was voted off. Especially considering certain revelations on day two.

The Bone Cage - Angie Abdou - defended by George Laraque - second to be eliminated. Had little interest in the book, but some things said through the debate by Mr. Laraque peeked my interest.

Unless - Carol Shields - defended by Lorrne Cardinal - Third to be eliminated. I was hoping it would win.

The Birth House - Amy McKay - Defend by Debbie Travis (she irked me when I found out she didn't finish one of the books, yet voted two others out, over the one she didn't finish. WTF?) - It was the runner up. Not surprised it didn't win. I enjoyed the book, but don't think it classifies as an essential read. But, despite some issue I had with her, Travis was a good debater at times.

The Best Laid Plans - Terry Falls - Defended by Ali Velshi - WINNER 2011 Canada Reads. Hmm, haven't read book yet. But surpised by this. The defender didn't convince me to read to he book. In fact his aggressive nature to why its an "essential" read, kind of turned me off. I will still try the book, waiting for it in the library. Initially I was very gunhoe about picking up the book, but debates made me reluctant. So we'll see how I feel when I read the book.

All in all I enjoyed the Canada Reads, not what I was expecting but I will be tuning in next year.